Pussy Power

I like pussies…

catmeme2and runners. Both cats and people who regularly shuffle about faster than a walk seem to me to be quite self contained. Not necessarily unfriendly but happy to get on with their own life. They don’t often seek the approval of others, and although they don’t mind being helped, more often than not it is on their terms. Putting in time to achieve results is just par for the course, in fact they seem to have an aversion to doing things easily. In my eyes felines and joggers share a lot of characteristics. This might be controversial but bear with me.

When I started all this running madness I didn’t really know any other runners. There was the chap who persuaded me to do the half marathon, but he did not run with any regularity. However thanks to Parkrun I gradually got to know more and more people who ran all the time. Most seemed to have some kind of target for the future, an event or a time. They made jokes about excuses, knowing in reality if they failed to achieve the target they set themselves nobody else could be blamed. There was something about most of these runners, they weren’t unfriendly but they were self contained. Pretty much everything they did was not easy and required work. I admired that, and I realized that it was precisely these characteristics displayed that I began to notice in myself. Well for starters I had entered a race 4 or 5 months in advance, and when I realized I couldn’t run the first time I put my trainers on, I knew I would have to do the training and it would be hard!

So what has all this motivational claptrap got to docatmeme with cats then? Surely these little fluffy rat catchers have none of these traits of perseverance and focus, not to mention the desire to do things just because they are difficult. Well about the same time I was noticing in myself some of the traits that I had secretly been admiring in others for years, I started watching my own furry princess in a different way. For a start, when travelling from one side of the room to the other she nearly always chose the least direct route. If she could include a couple of obstacles, the backs of chairs, a table, a narrow gap between the wall and sofa so much the better. Wait a minute, was she doing the feline equivalent of getting the arse off the couch? As for patience and perseverance, I once sat watching a film while she hovered patiently next to the crack beneath a cupboard door where a spider had hidden itself away. She was there for about 2 hours, that’s a half marathon to most runners. I quite often caught her sitting patiently beneath a tree staring up at birds, just waiting for one to make a mistake.

So there we have it, pussies and runners, in my eyes both display inspirational qualities that I aspire to. They are prepared to do things simply because they are difficult, and will put in the time to achieve the aims they set for themselves. This might not be true of all pussy cats! There might be some who spend all day sleeping and getting up at silly hours to harass their servants into feeding them, however lets not think about them. It would mean I couldn’t achieve the ridiculous and difficult aim, of justifying starting a post with that click bait sentence…

I like pussies.

Leave a Reply

